You may say that I’m a dreamer…but…

Lectures are always boring for me. I’m not blaming the profs or the course or the subject, but somehow my attention span falls short by just 70 minutes, of the 75 minutes of a lecture. So I let myself wander into distant lands, racing F1 cars, playing soccer championships, hiding in a dense shrubbery and providing sniper cover to the troops… there are other things I do too…like romancing my lady for example, which are… ahem!! quite unparliamentary to discuss hereπŸ™‚ . The point is, I day dream a lot, I paint these illusions of grandeur, of better things than are present, of idealistic scenarios.

And then comes a reality check… a wake up call. It may be a piece of chalk hurled at me by the prof, which 11 times out of 10, finds its target. (my maths is inversely proportional to the prof’s aim…) or even worse, it may be a question I’m required to answer. (This is really humiliating, I’d rather take an iron chalk than a question). But these reality checks are a means of returning back to life, to keep my feet firmly on the ground and take care of things that need to be done in order to keep me where I am, and take me where I want to go. I got to do what I have to do, and its no use dreaming big if I can’t take care of the here and now… or is it?

You gotta dream, dream big, dream small, dream clean, dream filthy, but dream. These aren’t new words to any of us out here. But these are powerful words because they accomplish what no government or religion can accomplish. They liberate our mind. We become anyone, anything we want to. We fight our demons, we get rid of them. We fight the mightiest enemies, the cleverest generals, the deadliest diseases and yet emerge victorious. We never fail because we never dream that way.

I’m not gonna comment on dreaming of what you want to become. That is a different issue altogether, and my simple point here is to let your mind wander. To do what it wants to do, what it wants to become, to be, to achieve. So what if you cannot realistically achieve those things??? So what if it’s absurd??? So what if you are wasting your time dreaming all these things???

There was this guy who had developed a limp over the last 2-3 months. One day a colleague asked him the reason, and he replied, ” I’m wearing a pair of shoes one size too short.”

“Why?”, asked the colleague.

“My wife left me 3 months ago, I’ve a son who’s fallen into bad company, my boss is setting me unreachable targets and I’m being made the scapegoat for the third time in as many months.”

“What has that got to do with the size of your shoes?”, asked the bewildered colleague.

“The only time of the day I really feel good is when I go home and take off these shoes. It the only time when I dream of better things to come, of better days ahead.” sighed the man, and walked away.

Why did I share my thoughts? I got the wake up call of my life, and though I was keeping it on snooze… I think I have to wake up now…

DELTA1

4 thoughts on “You may say that I’m a dreamer…but…

  1. cant agree any more than this on lectures…πŸ˜› thts d reason v r bench-mates after all… one last thing to add, I love it wen u romance ur ladyπŸ˜‰

  2. everything said and done…i love the way you write….its so pure and neat…
    about dreaming….may be i sleep a lil less so cant comments as of now…πŸ˜›
    love ya

  3. @ Su…
    Yeah girl… afterall birds of the same feather…
    and the other thing u said… my pleasure!!!πŸ˜‰

    @ pinksocks…
    thanks for the observations… i try to be honest to myself, that’s all.
    love ya girls!!!

Leave a Reply

