Cry me a river…

The Tear
by
Lord George Gordon Byron

 

When Friendship or Love
Our sympathies move;
When Truth, in a glance, should appear,
The lips may beguile,
With a dimple or smile,
But the test of affection’s a Tear:

 

Too oft is a smile
But the hypocrite’s wile,
To mask detestation, or fear;
Give me the soft sigh,
Whilst the soultelling eye
Is dimm’d, for a time, with a Tear:

 

Mild Charity’s glow,
To us mortals below,
Shows the soul from barbarity clear;
Compassion will melt,
Where this virtue is felt,
And its dew is diffused in a Tear:

 

The man, doom’d to sail
With the blast of the gale,
Through billows Atlantic to steer,
As he bends o’er the wave
Which may soon be his grave,
The green sparkles bright with a Tear;

 

The Soldier braves death
For a fanciful wreath
In Glory’s romantic career;
But he raises the foe
When in battle laid low,
And bathes every wound with a Tear.

 

If, with high-bounding pride,
He return to his bride!
Renouncing the gore-crimson’d spear;
All his toils are repaid
When, embracing the maid,
From her eyelid he kisses the Tear.

 

Sweet scene of my youth!
Seat of Friendship and Truth,
Where Love chas’d each fast-fleeting year
Loth to leave thee, I mourn’d,
For a last look I turn’d,
But thy spire was scarce seen through a Tear:

 

Though my vows I can pour,
To my Mary no more,
My Mary, to Love once so dear,
In the shade of her bow’r,
I remember the hour,
She rewarded those vows with a Tear.

 

By another possest,
May she live ever blest!
Her name still my heart must revere:
With a sigh I resign,
What I once thought was mine,
And forgive her deceit with a Tear.

 

Ye friends of my heart,
Ere from you I depart,
This hope to my breast is most near:
If again we shall meet,
In this rural retreat,
May we meet, as we part, with a Tear.

 

When my soul wings her flight
To the regions of night,
And my corpse shall recline on its bier;
As ye pass by the tomb,
Where my ashes consume,
Oh! moisten their dust with a Tear.

Why do we cry? Do tears really solve problems? Tears have power, I’ll never doubt that, but somehow I fail to grasp the argument that you should cry, once in a while, to take that weight of your chest, if nothing else ( I’ve heard this argument from some friends of mine, and don’t know for sure how mainstream it is).

People cry for different reasons. Children cry when they are denied something, or get hurt, we cry when we are happy (remember how many times a mother or a sister in our Hindi movies has said, “Arre pagle, yeh toh khushi ke aansu hai!!”), or when we are sad. Girls can cry at a drop of the hat (quite literally!!!) and women use it as the most powerful weapon, a sure kill!!!

Well, I somehow digressed from the questions I was asking. Does crying solve problems?? Is crying over a bad paper going to give you good marks??? Will crying over a broken heart or a failed relationship going to make things better or bring him/her back to you??? What has to happen, happens, no matter how much we cry or fuss about things. I feel tears make us helpless. they are our last resort, our last refuge and solace. We cry when we somehow come to think that all is lost now and nothing much can be done about it. But then, when we have convinced ourselves that nothing can be done, what is the use of crying? I’m afraid I’m repeating myself.

I’m confused on this one. Maybe I’ll be able to explain this better if I get to talk about it. Maybe I am wrong and need to change my opinion. For now I’m reminded of the song ‘Cry me a river’. It goes something like this…

‘Now you say you’re lonely
You cried the long night through
Well, you can cry me a river
Cry me a river
I cried a river over you’

DELTA1

6 thoughts on “Cry me a river…

  1. le le saale….khud ke khud comments daalta hai!! luchha saala…

    but still; u r an engineer; so i’d explain u with a sylogism (pardon me if u didnt want to read this): a human body is just like an atom. whenever the electrons in an atom are in an excited state and go to higher orbitals, they have to emit a quantum of energy to come to the original state; just like that, when human mind is at a higher emotional level, it emits a tear to come back to the original state.

    lemme know in how much vain my attempt went on a scale of 1 to 10. (so this gives u one more chance to add a comment….CHEATERCOCK!)

  2. abey i’m not commenting my own stuff!!! (phew!! gimme a break!!)😀 rather showing my gratitude to ppl who’ve taken the effort to read my posts and given their honest opinions🙂

Leave a Reply

